My First Pull Request (OSCA Challenge)

My First Pull Request (OSCA Challenge)

The Push

I don't what pushed me to open my discord app on the 16th of August and here I saw the OSCA challenge staring at me, I've been using Github for a while now, but had never contributed to another project. I saw this challenge as the necessary push I needed to finally contribute to open source.

via GIPHY

The Pull

Luckily for me, the challenge coincided with me enrolling for the Zuri internship. During the internship, I always had it at the back of my mind that I wanted to contribute to open source. Fast forward to recently we were grouped into teams and asked to collaborate on a project, you can only imagine the joy in my heart when I made my first PR and it was merged by my team leads. I had that feeling of

killing two birds with a stone.

What I've learned

On my way to contributing, apart from technical knowledge I learned about

  • coming up with user stories,
  • converting the user stories into issues on Github,
  • adding labels to issues,
  • assigning issues,
  • making a pull request,
  • voiding merge conflicts,
  • linking my pull request with the appropriate issues.

Thank you OSCA for giving me the push I needed. Cheers to more PRs.

via GIPHY